ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How about recording AVIs?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 12:50 pm    Post subject: How about recording AVIs? Reply with quote

It would be hard to program in, but it would make it a lot easier, instead of hours of searching the net for something that can record zdaemon, heh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Da_maniaC
Now with new lemon fresh scent!


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Theyre never ever gonna implement something like that.
If _you_ want it to be avi or mpg or whatever, its up to you, not them.


All other ppl that want it that way just use Fraps or Snagit and their done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snagit, doesnt work with Zdaemon, Nor does fraps.

So, Bleh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Da_maniaC
Now with new lemon fresh scent!


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LMFAO..... Fraps only works with openGL 640x480 thats right.

But SNAGit works perfect.. so either you havent tried, or your just dumb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snagit, I have tried, It wouldn't start recording....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
ufon
God like!


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Location: Czech republic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da_maniaC wrote:
LMFAO..... Fraps only works with openGL 640x480 thats right.

But SNAGit works perfect.. so either you havent tried, or your just dumb.


calm down mister Smile

i think its only a matter of time till someone provides a tool that will allow u to create pcx images frame by frame of a demo, its then only a step away from making your own video

heh i think that doesnt even require that much of a coding talent....how did it go ? int main......ok lets wait for someone else to do it Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da_maniaC
Now with new lemon fresh scent!


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ufon wrote:
Da_maniaC wrote:
LMFAO..... Fraps only works with openGL 640x480 thats right.

But SNAGit works perfect.. so either you havent tried, or your just dumb.


calm down mister Smile

i think its only a matter of time till someone provides a tool that will allow u to create pcx images frame by frame of a demo, its then only a step away from making your own video

heh i think that doesnt even require that much of a coding talent....how did it go ? int main......ok lets wait for someone else to do it Wink


Im, perfectly calm.... its just that im sure recording with snagit works, cause ive done it a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bonzo
Dominating!


Joined: 23 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Camtasia Studio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha, I downloaded that, makes the game unplayible laggy (9985 ping)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Gollum
Wicked Sick!


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Location: Chicago, IL, U.S.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unconscious wrote:
Haha, I downloaded that, makes the game unplayible laggy (9985 ping)


Maybe record a demo (.zdo) and then record the playback? It's just a thought; I haven't tested it since I've never really had a need for an .avi of a demo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, Yes gollum, your a genius!


But.

Ive just tried it, heh, and it makes it all dodgy and "colourful"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Uliir
has entered the game!


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Location: Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

recording to a more mainstream video format would be hella cool though. agreed - recording directly to [.avi, .mov, ...] during play would be too resource costly. perhaps someone would be willing to devote some time to make a tool dedicated to zdaemon video (.zdo) to [.avi, .mov, ...] conversion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That'd ber uber cool...

PS: Welcome to Zdaemon, home of the Flame.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Da_maniaC
Now with new lemon fresh scent!


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im sure something like that will never happen.

A dump, off all the seperate frames in .pcx format or something maybe (so you could compile a movie off it later) but never, is a doom engine going to have an option , that will export a demo in movie format with the desired codec/framerate or whatever.

Maybe some looney, would like to make a seperate exe , that does an export i mentioned above... which will work seperate from zdaemon.

Unconscious: if youre such a good programmer, you can make a program that equals Doom Connector...

Then why not try and make something like this yourself. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da_maniaC wrote:
Im sure something like that will never happen.

A dump, off all the seperate frames in .pcx format or something maybe (so you could compile a movie off it later) but never, is a doom engine going to have an option , that will export a demo in movie format with the desired codec/framerate or whatever.

Maybe some looney, would like to make a seperate exe , that does an export i mentioned above... which will work seperate from zdaemon.

Unconscious: if youre such a good programmer, you can make a program that equals Doom Connector...

Then why not try and make something like this yourself. Wink


Who said anything about programming a Doom connector? I wouldn't want to copy it anways... Ive rather steal Zdaemon... (Im joking....)

How about like a mod so you can type say AVIDEMO into the console, while you are playing back a demo you had recorded, and it takes a picture of either indivisual frame, then get a program like BMPTOAVI, and make it?

Just like the D3 Alpha...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Uliir
has entered the game!


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Location: Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unconscious wrote:
How about like a mod so you can type say AVIDEMO into the console, while you are playing back a demo you had recorded, and it takes a picture of either indivisual frame, then get a program like BMPTOAVI, and make it?


Sounds rich to me but, unfortunately we'd be missing the sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Unconscious
Unstoppable!


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Location: England.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gah true.... Use a external sound recorder Wink.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Englander
God like!


Joined: 04 Jun 2004
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That alone would add another mega load of size to the program, it aint worth it.

Get a Special Video card that you can plug a video camera into. Wink

Heh, Ok its a bit stupid, but it works! Laughing


Last edited by Englander on Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
int28
Unstoppable!


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Location: N.E. WI

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a simple way to do this I mentioned it before, if you have the proper hardware. Just run your s-video out from your PC to your VCR. VCR don't have s-video, well get the adapter from radio shack (about 5 bucks). You want sound, use your line out from your sound card and run that to your VCR (you know those little red white and yellow circles). Playback the demo and hit record on your VCR. Just about everyone has the hardware cable of doing all that unless you have something from like 1995.

After that rewind the tape hit play and set your video card to capture, if your video card has video in-capture that is. If not get a cheap tv-tuner capture card, cost about $50 new. When your done you will have a nice mpg file. Plus you can watch tv.

Actually after thinking about it, I think you could just run the video out from your graphics card straight to the tv-tuner card. Just assign a hot key to start your video capture program (they come with the capture card). Whenever you want to record something just hit the hot key and it should save it. Use it for doom recordings, or those special webcam finds Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Englander
God like!


Joined: 04 Jun 2004
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on what make of videocard he has, but most should now support these features.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Development All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group