Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:08 am Post subject: Don't take surv. life when disconnecting in death cam state
From the 1.10b07 changelog:
9. Slightly modified the survival rules: when someone disconnects
while playing, he doesn't get automatically blocked from re-
joining in the same level: he gets charged with one death
instead; if the resulting death count is lower than maxlives,
he can re-join but he will get "charged" with the death count.
Otherwise, he will be blocked just like before.
This can lead to the following odd case as it is now:
Disconnecting penilises the player with a loss of life even when in the death cam state, i.e. after he had already paid with a life for the death, but before he has entered the game again. IMHO, this is unintuitive, and the unexpected loss of 2 lives this leads to is confusing, and there should be an exception for this, because, for all that can be observed, the player effectively isn't in the game at that time (he hasn't started the next life yet).
When I revisit my thoughts, this isn't as hot of an issue. Should it require spaghetti changes in current logic in the code, or have the potential to break expectations about when ACS scripts are being triggered, the idea should be abandoned.
I've got a question here: if I understand you correctly, you're saying that taking a life is not needed if he's already dead. That makes sense, except... if you die in survival and you're NOT ouf of lives, then you're forced to respawn very quickly. And if you remain dead, it's because you're out of lives already. So if you're dead and the server penalizes you with an extra death when you disconnect, then how is that affecting you? Am I missing something here? Are you talking about the brief period between death and auto-respawn in survival?
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum