ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Introducing "Castle of Hassle"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> Wad Editing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xsnake
Unstoppable!


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Location: France, Bordeaux

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 4:05 pm    Post subject: Introducing "Castle of Hassle" Reply with quote



* Description *

● "Castle of Hassle" lets you and your friends play through a set of chambers in a castle. Each chamber has its own amount of monster and waves. At the end of waves, players get money which they can spend to upgrade their class specific skills and buy ammo/weapons/powerups between chambers.
There are 4 available classes : Marine, Medic, Demo, Scout. Each one has its pros and cons, so players should really work together to make it to the final chamber!

● Coh is meant to be played with squads of 3 or 4 players (not more, not less).

● So far, four chambers are playable. There was meant to be a 5th with the final boss, but it isn't ready yet!

● At the end of chambers #2 and #4, you will encounter a mini-boss. Razz

* Classes *

● Like I said, four classes are available. There are no restrictions regarding the number of players per class (there can be four Marines for instance), but since they all have pros and cons, players in a squad should think about a clever combination of classes.

● Classes are selected at start and cannot be changed later in the game. The classes are :

Marine
● Default class, has the highest damage output
● Upgrades : Superior armor
● Max armor : 150

Medic
● A class to provide teammates with health
● Upgrades : Max health, Health regeneration, Revive allies
● Max armor : 50

Demo
● A class to provide teammates with ammo
● Upgrades : Max ammo capacity, Ammo regeneration
● Max armor : 100

Scout
● A lighter and faster class
● Upgrades : Higher speed (NOT WORKING ATM), instant weapons switching
● Max armor : 75

Note : The regenerations are applied to all alive players (while fighting in a chamber) as long as the player who has the regen is alive.

Note : Some regens have levels. For example, the medic health regen heals 2 hp per second per level. Up to 5 levels are purchasable.

Note : Regen effects are cumulative. If two medics have HP regen lvl 1, players will be healed 4 hp per second.

Sceenshot to illustrate upgrades http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_.jpg

* Checkpoints/Deaths system *

● When a player dies in a chamber, he will be marked as "dead" on the left corner of screen. When all players have died in a chamber, they will be taken back to the last checkpoint, with their old money/weapons/upgrades back. Hence, they can buy different weapons or upgrades to try to beat the chamber with a different strategy.

● "Your progress has been saved" will be displayed on screen whenever you reach a checkpoint. They are reached right after you beat a chamber.

● A dead player will receive all collected money by the others in the chamber.

● A dead player's regens will not apply to alive players, like said previously.

● A medic with the "Allies revive" upgrade cannot revive themselves.

* Items shop *

● Items and upgrades are purchasable only when out of a chamber (ie, during "intermission") with the exception of ammo which can be bought while playing in a chamber but their cost will be doubled. So it isn't recommended to purchase ammo in a chamber! Do it only if there is no choice.

● More items will be added in the shop after chambers #1 and #2 are beaten.

● Now, some details about the purchasable items :

● All weapons are purchasable, including Railgun, except BFG9000 which can be still obtained via the "Random weapon" purchase.

● The invuln can be bought and will work as an usable item in your inventory.

● "Overheal" will give you 50 extra HP above your normal HP limit. For instance, if your maxhp is 100, you will receive 150 hp. If it's 120 (medic upgrades), you'll receive 170.

● The chainsaw fires 50% faster than in Doom 2.

● Note that you keep your weapons when you respawn in a chamber (except Berserk and BFG9000). Ammo isn't kept, though.

* Screenshots*

Class selection room http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_1.jpg

Intermission room http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_2.jpg
http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_3.jpg

Playing in chamber #1 http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_5.jpg
http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_6.jpg

Playing in chamber #2 http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_7.jpg

Playing in chamber #3 http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_8.jpg

Ready for chamber #4 http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_4.jpg

Playing in chamber #4 http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_9.jpg

As you can see on these screenshots, there are loads of portals (aka stacked sectors) Smile

* Play Information *

gametype : cooperative
maxclients : as much as you want. There normally can be as many spectators as wanted. Player numbers are reorganized upon join.
maxplayers : 3 or 4. Note that you can start a 3 players game even though playerlimit is 4.
sv_forcerespawn should be true and sv_deathlimit set to 1.
teamdamage should be 0.
skill : 3
map should be reset when all players leave the game.

Even though skill isn't implemented, here are some difficulty levels :

● Easy : 4 players, sv_fastmonsters 0
● Normal : 4 players, sv_fastmonsters 1 <-- Recommended
● Normal : 3 players, sv_fastmonsters 0
● Expert : 3 players, sv_fastmonsters 1 (this hasn't been tested)

In addition, x2 monsters damage can be set if you think you can make it Twisted Evil

Hence, recommended config :
DMFLAGS = 33028
DMFLAGS2 = 131072
sv_deathlimit 1
maxplayers 4

* Dynamic squads *

● If a player leaves the game in the middle of a chamber or so, the game will not break (normally).

● It is also possible to join the game in the middle of a chamber or intermission but the class will be selected automatically and you will start with 1000$ (initial money) : if there are no medic in the squad, the player will become medic automatically. Else, if there is no demo, they will go demo and else, a random class will get selected.

● This game wasn't meant to support dynamic quit/join. It shouldn't cause bugs but I cannot guarantee it is 100% robust. This is why I think you should play this mod with a couple of friends Cool

● However, please report any bug you encounter regarding this.

* Download link *

● I probably forgot to mention a few details, but the essentials are here!

http://sickedwick.net/uploader/files/coh_r1.zip


Questions, comments, bugs reports ? Post them here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Cybershark
Spamming!


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Location: off the grid, but still fighting for the users!

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This all sounds quite complex. I hope it will be accessible to first-time players.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ch0wW
Unstoppable!


Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is kinda Mann vs Machine (TF2) survival Style, it can have 4 difficulty levels, so yes, it is possible to be used for new players.

Anyway, with Oxyde, JCD, Dislogical and I , we have made a stream with the wad completed live ( and a random server crash, having to restart the whole game - again !) :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HffyV2gFB20

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GreenchiL
Spamming!


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Location: #FS #Ducks YouTube: Rosh Fragger

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's soooo COOOL!!!! Great.....! Very Happy Mr. Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sr69Mm-jC
Spamming!


Joined: 21 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This does need some serious balance improvements but otherwise it is really fun to play, especially with that impressive castle map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alteus
Altues


Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think medics number should be restricted to 1, impossible to die when two medics are in team (see image's death count) Razz

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sr69Mm-jC
Spamming!


Joined: 21 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not about the number of medics; it's about how majorly overpowered the respawning ability is. It features no money cost, no penalties, no sit-out timer, no weapon/inventory loss, and no respawn-count limit. *That* is the problem.

In public play, the game sometimes turns into a medic sitting behind some door while the rest of the team dies five hundred times trying to gun down all the monsters with the starting pistol and fifty bullets. Having 2+ medics doesn't make it much worse alone - apart from the fact that the game can no longer be lost Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCupboard
Generic Title


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't look now - your ambition is showing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Xsnake
Unstoppable!


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Location: France, Bordeaux

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback, guys.

Here comes a fix for the problem you mentioned along with other fixes and new features. Cool

* Changelog *
Code:

RC1 -> RC2 (17th of May 2013)
#############################

-The invuln powerup sphere could be picked up. Fixed.
-The random weapon purchase message is now displayed for all players.
-Added a "number of viles" monster indicator.
-The medic's revival perk will now revive up to 10 dead players per chamber.
-Added the "team armor regeneration" upgrade for the Marine.
-Made the giant mancubus fireballs bigger to match the monster size.
-Active perks will now be displayed when playing in a chamber.
-Nerfed the Marine "Superior armor" upgrade (20% per level -> 15% per level).
-The medic's max Hp upgrade wouldn't apply on purchase. Fixed.
-Under some circumstances, players would not get healed when going back to the intermission chamber. Fixed.


Screenshot of the perks display
http://xsnake.online.fr/wads/coh_screens/coh_10.jpg

* Download link *

http://sickedwick.net/uploader/files/coh_r2.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Xsnake
Unstoppable!


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Location: France, Bordeaux

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

* RC3 Changelog *

Code:
-Completed the final chamber.
-Changed the scout "speed upgrade" to "Money Maximizer". It will increase the team
money income by 10% per level (2 levels).
-It is now possible to start the game with less than 3 players, although it is not recommended.
-Added a stats page once the final boss is beaten.
-Added ranks. These are given at the end of the map accordingly to your team performance.


Check out the trailer : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BozrWIhuHhk

Last chamber screenshot : http://www.urpics.fr/picsxl/201403/20140320201141z4eb65d0f8972347465831da3c577e8f6.png

* Download Link *

http://sickedwick.net/uploader/files/coh_r3.zip


I guess this is it. Report any bug you find please. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Aeyesx
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Oct 2012
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Truly awesome but meh, u know u can make one version compatible even with zan ? Since ZD ignores deco and zan ignores dehsupp :0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alteus
Altues


Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got "Big Boss" rank in last attempt :3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xsnake
Unstoppable!


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Location: France, Bordeaux

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aeyesx wrote:
Truly awesome but meh, u know u can make one version compatible even with zan ? Since ZD ignores deco and zan ignores dehsupp :0


I'm aware of this, but there are a few more differences between the ZD and Zandronum version than just the decorate/dehsupp :

-The way Zandro handles rescaled textures is different, so a few textures offsets have been adjusted
-The Log acs function has to be used in CLIENTSIDE scripts to work properly (to make the boss chat)
-Hires titlepic

Alteus wrote:
Got "Big Boss" rank in last attempt :3


Congrats. If you took a screenshot, I'd be curious to see it Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Sr69Mm-jC
Spamming!


Joined: 21 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xsnake wrote:
-Hires titlepic

What's wrong with hires titlepics though? Your interpic is 1024x576 (now that I look at the wad) and there's nothing wrong with it in-game; I wouldn't believe that titlepic handling is somehow different. Besides, I myself use a 1156x660 titlepic in my wad just fine.

spoiler nice boss "trick" at the end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aeyesx
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Oct 2012
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xsnake wrote:

I'm aware of this, but there are a few more differences between the ZD and Zandronum version than just the decorate/dehsupp :

-The way Zandro handles rescaled textures is different, so a few textures offsets have been adjusted
-The Log acs function has to be used in CLIENTSIDE scripts to work properly (to make the boss chat)
-Hires titlepic


Mmmm naah, hires titlepic as SR69 said works with no prob.
No idea about log acs,
But the scaled textures can be done, by using TEXTURES lump, where u have to check WorldPanning option.... I messed with it but i think it really does work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Xsnake
Unstoppable!


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Location: France, Bordeaux

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aeyesx wrote:

Mmmm naah, hires titlepic as SR69 said works with no prob.


640x400 titlepic
Does this look normal to you ? If you have shaded console background activated, you won't see this. But that's what happens when you bring down the console with a titlepic that is too big.

Aeyesx wrote:
But the scaled textures can be done, by using TEXTURES lump, where u have to check WorldPanning option.... I messed with it but i think it really does work...


Im not saying it's not working. It does work. But the reference offsets of the scaled textures are handled differently. Picture comparison with the same offsets on both ports
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Aeyesx
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Oct 2012
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xsnake wrote:

640x400 titlepic
Does this look normal to you ? If you have shaded console background activated, you won't see this. But that's what happens when you bring down the console with a titlepic that is too big.


Oh well now I finnaly understand what was going on there.
http://forums.zdaemon.org/viewtopic.php?t=15764

For some reason it was rejected, but whatever it could get fixed still due beta...

Xsnake wrote:
Im not saying it's not working. It does work. But the reference offsets of the scaled textures are handled differently. Picture comparison with the same offsets on both ports


I tried exactly the same thing, and yep, worldpanning didn't saved it its still offseted differently...
It might be due different texture manager.

Well in past when you released the very first version, i got really inspirated in the castle design and created similiar texture by myself, and i was thinking about some gzdoom compatibility, later i abandoned it but meh i was lucky... it rendered in the same way... pic here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> Wad Editing All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group