ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Linux Doom Server question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:03 am    Post subject: Linux Doom Server question Reply with quote

Hi I want to try and make a doom server on my debian squeeze 6.0.2
I successfully wgot the debian binaries and unzipped/untared the file. I first just want to test it locally by connecting to it internally on my home network so I assumed I simply just cd to the doom server directory and just run
Code:
./zserv.sh

with no arguments or file editing. (I just want to test it)
And this is what happens:

essentially nothing...lol
It seems like it just hangs and goes back to my shell prompt after a couple mins. Oh by the way I know my screenshot does not show it but I did run it with sudo as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do I need to add all the .wads like doom2.wad into the directory with everything in it?
~argh that did not work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phenex2
Unstoppable!


Joined: 10 Jan 2008

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using a 64bit system by any chance?
if yes then read here VERY carefully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you check out the zserv.sh aswell, to ensure that the directories are set, and the wads referenced are available.

Even after being extracted, it would still need a bit of configuration in order to get it started.

Only do the above after referencing what phenex2 indicated though (if that is applicable).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Debian is on a 32 bit system.
Ok yeah I think your right about something in the shell script needs to be edited like maybe specifying what .wads to use and such. I'm going to try to edit it but what would really help me is if you guys posted your shell scripts as an example. I would be able to see a shell script that works and just fill in the wads I have.

Here is my script as of now. As you can see I changed the wad directory variable value. (all my wads and everything that has to do with the doom server is in the same directory which is /home/l1t/doom2/zserv10808c_bin

Code:
# crash logging and an upper crash limit.
#
# Copyright (C) 2003, The ZDaemon Team
########################################################
WADDIR=/home/l1t/doom2/zserv10808c_bin
CRASHCOUNT=0
MAXCRASH=100
ulimit -c 0
while (true)
do
        ./zserv -port 10601 -waddir $WADDIR -iwad doom2 -file brit11 </dev/null >/dev/null 2>&1 &
        PID=$!
        trap "kill -15 $PID; exit 0" 15
        wait
        echo  `date '+%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S'` : zserv crash >> zserv.crashlog
        CRASHCOUNT=`expr $CRASHCOUNT + 1`
        if [ $CRASHCOUNT -ge $MAXCRASH ]; then break; fi
        sleep 2
done


I'm not even sure what to look for if it does happen to start correctly. Will it spit something out saying my server is running and bring me to a cmnd line interface where I can issue server commands and stuff? Also how do I test and connect to it? Where in the zdaemon client do I type in my server's local ip and see if I can connect?


Last edited by L1T on Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Best way to see what's occurring would be to more than likely remove the following from the script:
</dev/null >/dev/null 2>&1 &

Note: Make a note of it though, as you'll want to add it back again once it works again.

Once removed, you'll then be able to see what goes on when the zserv attempts to start up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
./zserv.sh: 22: ./zserv: Permission denied

Thanks so much for the help by the way.
That is the error I got after removing the line you told me to. What the hell it looks like some kind of shh permission error or yah idk....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May more than likely need to have the executable permission enabled.

Additional: If when you originally extracted the zserv you were logged in under root, you may need to chown the directory and the contained files so they correspond with the user you want to execute them under.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome that must have been the problem I chmodded ugo+rwx every single file in the directory just to be absolutely safe and it now works. Although I really don't know the difference between the wad types (i use doom2.wad which seems to work) and the -file . I assume the -file is the actual map. I'm using jenisis.wad at the moment but I think that's actually a Iwad lol. Idk where do I get maps from to put as the -file argument in the script?
Here is what my script looks like now:


Here is what my directory looks like now. See all those wads I think those are Iwads or wtvr and not maps eh?:


And here is there error I'm getting when I run the server now:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's good to know that the zserv now executes.

Note: I would strongly recommend making sure all wad files (and their extensions) have a lowercase name. I've found that has given me a couple of headaches over time.

As far as the messages you're receiving, only a couple of possibilities come to mind there:
1) The WAD is designed for use with a different IWAD
2) The WAD isn't compatible here

Though..with (2), since only the 1.08.08c zserv binary is available at this time, this "may" change, I'm unable to indicate either way for the specific WAD you're attempting to load.

Attempt to load up the zserv with a very basic configuration (no PWADs at all).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 WAD & Alt. List
------------------------------------------------------------
1. zdaemon.wad
2. doom2.wad
------------------------------------------------------------
You need to activate zserv.cfg before zserv will run. 0
OS: Linux 2.6.32-5-686
 adding zdaemon.wad (279 lumps)
 adding doom2.wad (2956 lumps)
Init DOOM refresh subsystem.
Init Playloop state.
using port 10601
Starting network and creating sockets
Using port 10601
IP address 192.168.2.128:10601
UDP Initialized
> DMFLAGS now: 21700
> DMFLAGS2 now: 0
1. map01
2. map02
3. map03
4. map04
5. map05
6. map06
TOTAL: 6

Ok so that is what it spat out after removing jenesis.wad after the -file.
-file is still there so I guess that how to run it without a "pwad". Where can I learn the difference between and iwad and a pwad? Maybe google with tell me. Anyways it looks like it says
Code:
You need to activate zserv.cfg before zserv will run

How do I "activate" zserv.cfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit the zserv.cfg file, look for the following line:
set cfg_activated

Make sure it's set to 1.

The IWAD is the main game wad, always specify it there, never in -file.

The -file should only ever be used when running PWADs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lol I realized that a second before you posted that I swear! Dude i'm sorry i'm coming off as such a noob thankyou for holding my hand through this by the way.


sudo ./zserv.sh
Code:
OS: Linux 2.6.32-5-686
 adding zdaemon.wad (279 lumps)
 adding doom2.wad (2956 lumps)
Init DOOM refresh subsystem.
Init Playloop state.
using port 10601
Starting network and creating sockets
Using port 10601
IP address 192.168.2.128:10601
UDP Initialized
> DMFLAGS now: 21700
> DMFLAGS2 now: 0
1. map01
2. map02
3. map03
4. map04
5. map05
6. map06
TOTAL: 6
------------------------------------------------------------
 WAD & Alt. List
------------------------------------------------------------
1. zdaemon.wad
2. doom2.wad
------------------------------------------------------------
Starting watchdog thread

--------------------------------------------------------------------
map01: entryway
--------------------------------------------------------------------
No bots.cfg, so no bots
Reading bans from zd_bans.txt...
File not found

echo oh hai it worked?
oh hai it worked?


Now how do I connect to it from the zdaemon client to check it out? And how do I get pwads that are compatible with doom2.wad iwad?
I'm assuming right now it's like running doom2 vanilla missions or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To connect to your server from the ZDaemon client, enter the following:
connect 192.168.2.128:10601

"And how do I get pwads that are compatible with doom2.wad iwad?"

Usually the zip archives that are downloaded contain a textfile, they should indicate what main game the wad is compatible with.

If nothing is contained and no information was available on the site you downloaded it from...trial and error pretty much.

At the moment, it's starting up with only the doom2 IWAD with the following maplist:
map01-06

You'll be able to alter the maplist from the zserv.cfg file.

At this stage, experiment a bit and get acquainted with it all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, will do.
Thanks again sir!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright I have tested a lot of wads and they all seem to start smoothly. The server stars fine with no errors. But when I open up a client and try to connect I keep getting the following error:

Any ideas? I'm pretty positive I have the latest versions I downloaded everything about 2 days ago. Is the reason because my client is 1.09 and the server is 1.08.08c?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're connecting using the 1.09b26 client, you'd need to connect using the 1.08.08c client.

In this instance, you'll want to add your server to the launcher as a favourite.

To do so:
1) Goto Settings -> Servers -> Add Favorite
2) Enter the following in the IP and Port fields:
192.168.2.128:10601
3) Click OK

Once done, when you attempt to connect to the server via the launcher, it'll use the 1.08.08c client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright well I have been playing local games for a while now with bots and or friends. Today I tried a coop/single-player map rather than PvP and the map had no demons in it. All I can see are options for Deathmatch and PvP related settings in the zserv.cfg. I'm guessing I have to somehow set the server to be Coop or Survival for the daemons to appear on this single player map?

Or maybe I set it to onl use map01 or something.

Thanks again for all your help AF-Domains
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
L1T
has entered the game!


Joined: 15 Feb 2012

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad this thread is still here. Noticed nobody runs server from the great white north. This is and always has been my favorite port so I'm going to run some. I also started mapping this month and I have some maps to play (once I switch the textures around because I did not realize the zdaemon engine does not like mixing floor and wall textures). O well will be worth it to redo them to play on zdaemon.

Anyways, I need the zdaemon master server IP and port confirmed because I make custom iptable rules on my linux server so I need to make the accepts. Please and thanks.

Btw AF. I saved our convo from way back about rolling out zdaemon servers with the zdaemonwad and binary symlinked in zserv01, zserv02 etc. But the link to http://duinj.af-domains.net/other/zserv_inv.zip is no longer up. Mind letting me DL that again? I pretty much just need that zserv01.rc and your shell scripts to take a look at.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fx02
On a Rampage!


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think those scripts are here too:
http://www.doom.com.hr/public/doom2/ports/zdaemon/zdaemon_linux_109_server_with_scripts.tar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group