ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Zdaemon demos HoW to FAQ??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Isus_in_black.
Dominating!


Joined: 23 May 2004

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:05 am    Post subject: Zdaemon demos HoW to FAQ?? Reply with quote

I would like some help with demo recording and playback as the feature seems to be broken in the current version of the client that I have.

I can record them normally (I think) by selecting record demo and joining a game. A demo file is then placed in the /demos directory.

Now the problems begin. First of all the demo extension is .ddo instead of .doo? Whats up with that??

When going into playback mode (in the launcher) i can select the demos but after selecting the demo and the relevant wads I get the following error message:

"Do not select .wad files when trying to play demos" or something along those lines.

If i rename the demo files from .ddo to .doo extension the demo starts but is immediatly terminated with a corrupt demo error.

Please help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evolution
Spamming!


Joined: 06 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shouldn't the extension for ZDaemon demos be ".zdo"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Isus_in_black.
Dominating!


Joined: 23 May 2004

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Evolution my bad. Thats right the extension should be .zdo, when I record the demos the extension is NOT .zdo however.

Does anyone else have problems recording and playing back their demos??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evolution
Spamming!


Joined: 06 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange! Do you use a command line to record demos? There *may* be a faulty extension given there that has been overlooked. That's all I know that can be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Isus_in_black.
Dominating!


Joined: 23 May 2004

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Re-installed client today....seems to work now Very Happy

Should have tried that before posting. Thanks for the help though anyway Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CooBlu
Posting Spree!


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sry for posting this (I'm pretty new to Zdaemon), but how do you record? I know about things like Fraps, and Wegame (video game recording software) because I recorded my Halo CE with it, and posted it on YouTube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ladna
Posting Spree!


Joined: 26 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a thread on the IDL forums on how to do this here. Good luck!

EDIT:

I should mention that this records a "demo", which can only be viewed using ZDaemon. If you're looking to make a video you'll need Fraps... or something else that does what Fraps does.

It also configures your client to automatically demo every game you play in, so you might have to watch your hard drive space. I find it's better to automatically demo and clean out my demo folder every so often, as opposed to be really sad that I forgot to demo something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enVision
A.K.A. Rat-Arsed


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Location: Lagland

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use
Code:
-netrecord lastgame
to record every game to a file (lastgame.zdo) that'll get overwritten every time you connect. If you want to keep the demo just rename it after disconnecting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group