ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pint To High

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> General Offtopic Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Poltergeist
Posting Spree!


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Location: S.A Australia Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:14 am    Post subject: Pint To High Reply with quote

Hey, i use a wireless network and with d/l's going i want to speed my net up and lower my ping can anybody recommend a program? Im using Windows XP with SP3. Any more info needed post here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
andymun
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Mar 2006

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your pint is too high, maybe you should try a pot or a schooner Wink But naw, I've tried a couple of programs and they don't work. So my advice is don't waste your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kilgore
Air Cavalry


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Location: Up the river

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Use a wired connection
2. If still not good enough, change ISP. Alternatively, play on relatively-close servers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rygrass
Spamming!


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Location: Aussie Clan:eV

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First thing go off wireliess.

Upgrade your current plan or move to a better ISP

There isn't a way to speed up your connection with a programm ( as far as i know ) All comes into factor how close you are to an Exchance (Central Office ) I.E Distance

What is your current plan speed ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Stealth
Gone with the wind


Joined: 09 Nov 2004

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Pint To High Reply with quote

Poltergeist wrote:
with d/l's going i want to speed my net up and lower my ping can anybody recommend a program?


That sort of idea is called 'prioritization', where you want to prioritize one type of data (ie. game traffic) over another one (ie. your downloads)

What router do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
cha0tix
Spamming!


Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL Hangout: #DarkAlley @ OFTC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll need QoS. The almighty Linux based Tomato would be the best choice, provided you learn how to set the classifications and whatnot. I had used DD-WRT due to its wide support of hardware and my ver.6 WRT54G. I have since gotten a WRT54GL and flashed Tomato due to its stability and working QoS, two things DD-WRT doesn't have. I can seed full speed and have stable pings for gameplay using Tomato.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Poltergeist
Posting Spree!


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Location: S.A Australia Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rygrass my plan speed is 256k and stealth my router is a belkin ADSL Modem Wireless - G Router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Poltergeist
Posting Spree!


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Location: S.A Australia Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
andymun
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Mar 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poltergeist wrote:
rygrass my plan speed is 256k and stealth my router is a belkin ADSL Modem Wireless - G Router.

belkin wireless routers ftw!!! boooo d-link!! Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GhoulSlayeR
Spamming!


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a crappy Netgear G wireless card and still manage Cool

But when I build my new machine, maybe that's when I will be able to go wired.
It's not my house really, so I can't run a 100 ft. cable without permission atm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
rygrass
Spamming!


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Location: Aussie Clan:eV

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poltergeist wrote:
rygrass my plan speed is 256k and stealth my router is a belkin ADSL Modem Wireless - G Router.


rofl there is your problem upgrade your speeeeds!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
andymun
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Mar 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rygrass wrote:
Poltergeist wrote:
rygrass my plan speed is 256k and stealth my router is a belkin ADSL Modem Wireless - G Router.


rofl there is your problem upgrade your speeeeds!

Yep, I dropped 10-20ms by going from 256k to 1.5m. 256k was wired, but wireless atm with 1.5m.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolboy
has entered the game!


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1 :O Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rygrass wrote:
rofl there is your problem upgrade your speeeeds!


Im sorry but where i and polt live the exchance is too old and they refuse to upgrade it so the max we can get is 256k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rygrass
Spamming!


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Location: Aussie Clan:eV

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

coolboy wrote:
rygrass wrote:
rofl there is your problem upgrade your speeeeds!


Im sorry but where i and polt live the exchance is too old and they refuse to upgrade it so the max we can get is 256k


What that i don't believe you, you should get more than 256k as i knew when asdl first came out it could reach atleast 1.5 megs..that was b4 2000! mabye distance is your factor

In the Exchange its not hard to upgrade equipment well what i mean they don't have to upgrade everything just the "Broadband equipment" as i know some exchanges here are 1969 ( if u mean by age is in old ) and have very fast internet soon to have adsl2+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
coolboy
has entered the game!


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1 :O Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i dont ahve all the details but from what i know we cant get any better and we dont attualy have much choice of ISP's ether

a computer tech friend who lives near us said he cant egt any higher then 256 n its still slow even with that i would need to look into it more but if i moved a bit north ill be able to get adsl2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tuomio
Spamming!


Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow where do you live if your max is 256k?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
andymun
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Mar 2006

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tuomio wrote:
Wow where do you live if your max is 256k?

From memory it's somewhere around here...



Am I right Seker?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolboy
has entered the game!


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1 :O Clan: TIM

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

attualy its only a small place where it use to be only a few houses noew its all buildt up if i moved only a few ks north i could get anything i want
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> General Offtopic Chat All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group