ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help Needed Please

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tYe
Posting Spree!


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:48 pm    Post subject: Help Needed Please Reply with quote

Alright. I found some older WADs that GetWAD cannot find that I have. I uploaded them all and GetWAD still cannot find the.

How come?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HumanBones
Boner!


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Location: Shangri-La Dee Da

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that you've added the folder that contains all your wads to the WAD Directory List next to the 'recently logged in' button at the top of the launcher.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tYe
Posting Spree!


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No....I mean...I uploaded them for others to use. But they get WAD NOT FOUND yet I have them added.

I can use them fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HumanBones
Boner!


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Location: Shangri-La Dee Da

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be wrong, but I do believe the website that wads are being hosted on need to be added to getwads search in order for it to work. I would suggest pm'ing Raider about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Stealth
Gone with the wind


Joined: 09 Nov 2004

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did you upload them to?

When you delete the wads from your folder, can GetWAD retrieve them?

do you have the site that they are uploaded to on your additional location list in GetWAD?

Is the URL that the wads are hosted at on the server?

Answer these questions and I should surely be able to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
tYe
Posting Spree!


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uploaded to www.fileden.com

GetWAD cannot retrieve them

I can add the direct link and it does work but I need it for friends and they dont wanna go thru the hastle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Empyre
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the server launcher, set the server's website to the exact link to the zip file with the same name as the wad file. Then getwad will find it, but only when someone is connecting to your server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
[n00b]Adereth
Spamming!


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: Oh god, what year is this?!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetWAD doesn't check FileDen by default; many of those transfer services use special little scripts to prevent automated programs from mooching off of them. Upload them here: http://doom.dogsoft.net/upload.php

And your days of entering website URLs will all be in the past.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Empyre
Spamming!


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that link is not a secret, shouldn't it be in a sticky, either here or in Wad Editing, or both?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
[n00b]Adereth
Spamming!


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: Oh god, what year is this?!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, yes, and yes. We're working on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Czar
Spamming!


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Location: Bitchez, they come and go; But Zdaemon is forever

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh but most ppl dont wanna use dogsoft because there is a 24 - 48 hour delay between you uploading and it going up? isnt therE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
[n00b]Adereth
Spamming!


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Location: Oh god, what year is this?!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Your best alternative is to send it to http://www.fathax.com/wadhost/ , and enter the URL in the server configuration. Think of fathax as the front-line, where you put a WAD when it's done but still going through testing, and dogsoft as a final resting place, of an archivy nature similar to idgames.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Cybershark
Spamming!


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Location: off the grid, but still fighting for the users!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, FatHax is a really sweet deal.
(just not for uploading all three zdctfmps like some moron felt a need to do Rolling Eyes )

i thought these services were common enough knowledge by now. one thing you can guarantee is that wherever a sticky is posted people will still not read it Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kilgore
Air Cavalry


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Location: Up the river

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
yeh but most ppl dont wanna use dogsoft because there is a 24 - 48 hour delay between you uploading and it going up? isnt therE?
If you want instant service, put the wad file someplace on a web server and place the wad URL in your server's URL. That will work and getwad will download it automatically for everyone.

Quote:
I may be wrong, but I do believe the website that wads are being hosted on need to be added to getwads search in order for it to work. I would suggest pm'ing Raider about that.
No... don't PM Raider or anyone else about adding a home web server to the getwad master list; it won't happen. Either send the wad to a well known repository, or provide a direct http link to it; that's the way it goes and it's really simple after all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tYe
Posting Spree!


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uploaded to dogsoft
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ronald
Rontard


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Location: Netherlands Clan: [QnB]

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to say that files uploaded to fathax are also being found when the url is not provided by the server. This is because the Google bots update the information of Fathax every now and then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mega-Dog
On a Rampage!


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Czar wrote:
yeh but most ppl dont wanna use dogsoft because there is a 24 - 48 hour delay between you uploading and it going up? isnt therE?


We only scan them to make sure they are not an IWAD or bad files. I hope in the next few weeks I am going to release a new web version that will put it on getwad instantly.

Also to speed up the proccess just let me know or Rygrass and we can have it on within hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BeenJammin
has entered the game!


Joined: 23 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:37 am    Post subject: OTHER GETWAD UPLOAD SITES Reply with quote

There MUST be another than dogsoft or fathax! Could there be a list of sites GetWad uses?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cybershark
Spamming!


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Location: off the grid, but still fighting for the users!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a list of the places that GetWAD checks - it's in zlauncher.cfg

BeenJammin wrote:
There MUST be another than dogsoft or fathax!

You want another alternative to upload to? How about you go buy (and code) your own then?

Also: congrats on the half-decade bump Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AF-Domains.net
Dark Messenger of IRC


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a topic is old, do NOT bump it.

Create a new one.

Locked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group