ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ZDaemon Mac OS X build
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Completely rebuilt 2 macbooks, base 10.12.5 installs, re-downloaded from here, and dragged onto the desktop and ZDaemon still just opens and immediately closes/crashes without any error or crash report, nothing...

So far I am able to get Chocolate Doom, Zandronum, GZDoom, ZDoom, and a couple others to work just fine just as before.... but none compare to that to ZDaemon above all else...

Lyfe, any possible way to look into this a little more and see why it's not fully lauching?

Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you copy a doom or doom2.wad file into the wads folder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This works for me!!! Back to zdaemon, finally. Been years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe wrote:
Did you copy a doom or doom2.wad file into the wads folder?


I thought I did... where does it go exactly? I don't see a wads folder. I tried creating a wads folder and putting it in the zDaemon folder. I also just put it directly in the root of the zDaemon folder... nada

I would LOVE to get this working.

Thank you in advance!


Last edited by Kamika007z on Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t8 wrote:
This works for me!!! Back to zdaemon, finally. Been years.


t8,

I'm so glad you're able to get it working!! Smile

Could you please briefly outline what you did to get it working on your machine as well as what version of MacOS you're using?

Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the latest Mac OS X version. I downloaded the DMG and moved the folder over to Applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

t8 wrote:
I'm using the latest Mac OS X version. I downloaded the DMG and moved the folder over to Applications.


Where do you store the WAD files specifically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does not work for me... No idea why. I get an error about file directory for wads. Strange... the server browser works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t8 wrote:
It does not work for me... No idea why. I get an error about file directory for wads. Strange... the server browser works.


I don't even get that error. The server browser works for me too but can't launch zDaemon. Even when I try launching it on its own. It just opens and then immediately closes from the dock. No error, crash, warning, nothing.

Is there a specific WADS folder? Because when I create one in the same folder zDaemon is copied to, no matter the desktop, downloads, applications, it just does this.

I tried specifying the directory under the server browser preferences on where the WADs folder is and still nada...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know you've been waiting for me to finally approach this topic again. With some new life and inspiration to make it work with the b08 release having shown up, I put some effort into it again.

So, I'm glad that I can give you a release that (barring any issues that I couldn't identify on my dev system) should work just fine.

http://www.zdaemon.info/files/ZDaemon_1.10b08.dmg

Updated client to 1.10-b08.
Updated the ZQuery game launcher to have a new parameter for where ZDaemon.app is located. It defaults to /Applications/ZDaemon/ZDaemon.app, so if you copy the entire ZDaemon folder from the DMG into your Applications folder, it will have a valid default.

You'll still need to provide your own doom/doom2/freedoom wadfile.
Btw, you can add multiple folders for wadfile storage. The top folder in the list is where attempts to download wadfiles will be stored, though.


Known bugs:
- If you have an invalid path to ZDaemon.app, then ZQuery will crash when it tries to launch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe wrote:
I know you've been waiting for me to finally approach this topic again. With some new life and inspiration to make it work with the b08 release having shown up, I put some effort into it again.

So, I'm glad that I can give you a release that (barring any issues that I couldn't identify on my dev system) should work just fine.

http://www.zdaemon.info/files/ZDaemon_1.10b08.dmg

Updated client to 1.10-b08.
Updated the ZQuery game launcher to have a new parameter for where ZDaemon.app is located. It defaults to /Applications/ZDaemon/ZDaemon.app, so if you copy the entire ZDaemon folder from the DMG into your Applications folder, it will have a valid default.

You'll still need to provide your own doom/doom2/freedoom wadfile.
Btw, you can add multiple folders for wadfile storage. The top folder in the list is where attempts to download wadfiles will be stored, though.


Known bugs:
- If you have an invalid path to ZDaemon.app, then ZQuery will crash when it tries to launch.


You're amazing, thank you so much!

Unfortunately after running it from exactly where you mentioned, I get the follwing error:

Code:
Process:               ZDaemon [742]
Path:                  /Volumes/VOLUME/*/ZDaemon.app/Contents/MacOS/ZDaemon
Identifier:            org.zdaemon.ZDaemon
Version:               ZDaemon version 1.08.08 (1.0)
Code Type:             X86 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           ZDaemon [742]
User ID:               501

Date/Time:             2017-09-09 02:14:53.476 -0400
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.12.6 (16G29)
Report Version:        12
Anonymous UUID:        398A3784-6518-1E0F-46B6-B4C940B1BBF1


Time Awake Since Boot: 4300 seconds

System Integrity Protection: enabled

Notes:                 Translocated Process

Crashed Thread:        0

Exception Type:        EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000
Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

Termination Reason:    DYLD, [0x1] Library missing

Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries

Dyld Error Message:
  Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
  Referenced from: /Volumes/VOLUME/*/ZDaemon.app/Contents/MacOS/ZDaemon
  Reason: image not found

Binary Images:
   0xc6000 -   0x2a8ff7 +org.zdaemon.ZDaemon (ZDaemon version 1.08.08 - 1.0) <60E20D32-9A34-34D9-8A8C-375A757105B5> /var/folders/*/ZDaemon.app/Contents/MacOS/ZDaemon
  0x551000 -   0x58ba93  dyld (433.5) <96ACA788-B094-3081-ACE1-7CF125D4C435> /usr/lib/dyld
0x90cb1000 - 0x90e58ff7  com.apple.avfoundation (2.0 - 1187.36) <1747E5C6-2CCA-335B-860F-D1321071184F> /System/Library/Frameworks/AVFoundation.framework/Versions/A/AVFoundation
0x931f5000 - 0x933e3ffb  com.apple.audio.toolbox.AudioToolbox (1.14 - 1.14) <1D6C82E5-CE4F-311C-B8D7-C0B5B6D3E114> /System/Library/Frameworks/AudioToolbox.framework/Versions/A/AudioToolbox
0x933e4000 - 0x933e4fff  com.apple.audio.units.AudioUnit (1.14 - 1.14) <2C1781EB-CD1F-3FAB-AD94-E8EA31D3B357> /System/Library/Frameworks/AudioUnit.framework/Versions/A/AudioUnit

Model: MacBookPro14,2, BootROM MBP142.0160.B02, 2 processors, Intel Core i7, 3.5 GHz, 16 GB, SMC 2.44f1
Graphics: kHW_IntelIrisGraphics650Item, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 650, Built-In
Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 8 GB, LPDDR3, 2133 MHz, 0x802C, 0x4D5435324C31473332443450472D30393320
Memory Module: BANK 1/DIMM0, 8 GB, LPDDR3, 2133 MHz, 0x802C, 0x4D5435324C31473332443450472D30393320
AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x171), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (7.21.171.130.1a1)
Bluetooth: Version 5.0.5f1, 3 services, 27 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: Wi-Fi, AirPort, en0
USB Device: USB 3.0 Bus
USB Device: iBridge
Thunderbolt Bus: MacBook Pro, Apple Inc., 22.2
Thunderbolt Bus: MacBook Pro, Apple Inc., 22.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this version:
http://www.zdaemon.info/files/ZDaemon_1.10b08.2.dmg

This should fix the SDL lookup dependency. I tested it on a machine (after removing SDL from my frameworks directory, which is where I need it to build the release), and it worked, so I think it should be good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe wrote:
Try this version:
http://www.zdaemon.info/files/ZDaemon_1.10b08.2.dmg

This should fix the SDL lookup dependency. I tested it on a machine (after removing SDL from my frameworks directory, which is where I need it to build the release), and it worked, so I think it should be good.


It finally worked!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! Smile

Running on 10.13 beta as we speak!

Thanks again VERY MUCH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamika007z
has entered the game!


Joined: 02 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A quick follow up:

It seems like I have to forcequit a lot because the app hangs when fetching for wads... then crashed and got this:

Code:
Process:               ZQuery [815]
Path:                  /Volumes/VOLUME/*/ZQuery.app/Contents/MacOS/ZQuery
Identifier:            org.zdaemon.ZQuery
Version:               1.0 (1)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           ZQuery [815]
User ID:               501

Date/Time:             2017-10-06 00:21:44.168 -0400
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.13 (17A405)
Report Version:        12
Bridge OS Version:     3.0 (14Y661)
Anonymous UUID:        398A3784-6518-1E0F-46B6-B4C940B1BBF1


Time Awake Since Boot: 4000 seconds

System Integrity Protection: enabled

Notes:                 Translocated Process

Crashed Thread:        3  Dispatch queue: com.apple.root.default-qos

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes:       KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0xfffffffffffffd51
Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

Termination Signal:    Segmentation fault: 11
Termination Reason:    Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0xb
Terminating Process:   exc handler [0]

VM Regions Near 0xfffffffffffffd51:
--> shared memory          00007fffffead000-00007fffffeae000 [    4K] r-x/r-x SM=SHM 



Also, is it possible to make the icon for ZQuery larger? It's on my OSX dock but it's tiny Smile

Thank you!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group