ZDaemon Forum Index ZDaemon
Client/Server DOOM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mac client returns (109b25)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:59 pm    Post subject: Mac client returns (109b25) Reply with quote

Hi all,

I know it's been eons since I said that the mac client will return with the release following 109b23.

Well, I'm keeping with what I set out to do. So, without further ado, in all it's spectacular buggy glory (the ZQuery app, anyway), here it is: http://www.gameowls.com/lyfe/ZDaemon109b26_mac.zip

Known issues:
- REQUIRES an intel mac, running 10.6 (snow leopard) or later.
- Compiled for 10.6 and later. If it works on 10.5, that's fantastic, but I have not gone out of my way to check if it works, or even attempt to compile it for 10.5.
- ONLY works with 109b25 servers. This will NOT work with 1.08.08 servers.
- Your iwad must either be in the same folder as ZDaemon.app, or in a path specified in the ZQuery preferences (as long as you use ZQuery.app)
- The ZQuery launcher program is very simplistic, and still kinda a first-run mac app (for me, anyway). It will have bugs.

Please give feedback (issue reporting, specific requests, etc) in this thread.

Thanks,
-Lyfe

[edit: Feb 3 - Updated to 109b25]
[edit: Feb 15 - Updated to 109b25a - hotfix for dependencies]
[edit: Feb 21 - Updated to 109b26 - fix bad compiler path setting, include small updates in b26]


Last edited by Lyfe on Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:51 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fx02
Dominating!


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! Smile

ps, nogo on 10.7


http://www.weboteka.net/zdaemon_snow.png
http://www.weboteka.net/zdaemon_snow1.png
http://www.weboteka.net/zdaemon_snow2.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works for me!! i'm running mac lion... 10.7...

fx02, delete any previous versions of it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DX-Chain
Spamming!


Joined: 24 Jan 2006

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll report when I come home from work--about time Mac peeps got some love <3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the uni i'm at started throttling data starting last year... it's been a pain, sometimes zdaemon works sometimes it doesnt!!

Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@fx02:
I'll try and take a look at that particular error tonight. I think you gave me enough information about it in the screenshots to look and see what might be going on.

I've been trying to work on a feature for zdaemon (not mac-specific), so I'd rather not interrupt myself completely right now.


@t8:
Is it the actual gameplay, or server refresh? If it's server refresh, you can go to the ZQuery preferences, and lower the number of servers queried at a single time. That might help you out a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted an updated link. This one has a hotfix that that made it to the windows users, as well as a fix for the dependency issue fx02 ran into. Sorry about that one.

Hope this works without fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fx02
Dominating!


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will try it asap Smile Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyfe, it was the number of servers refreshed... thanks for fixing this!! woot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyfe, do you think you could make the icon more "now and wow"?

I made this years ago -http://gzlauncher.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/gzlauncher/gzlauncher/pixmaps/zdaemon.png?revision=1.1&view=markup

I bet I could make an even nicer looking icon in Photoshop and give you the EPS... you could then make an ICNS file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe,


zQuery works on mac lion, but the zdaemon game does not... I'm getting the same error as fx02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fx02
Dominating!


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



problem again :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, sorry about that one. I need to update my other computer a bit, it seems. The way it attempts to locate the included SDL framework has apparently changed between versions.

This build should work on Lion again. http://www.gameowls.com/lyfe/ZDaemon109b26_mac.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fx02
Dominating!


Joined: 04 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked! Until my friend switched to fullscreen, after that it crashed and he cannot start it again :/

Error log...
http://www.doom.com.hr/zdaemon.rtf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fx02 wrote:
It worked! Until my friend switched to fullscreen, after that it crashed and he cannot start it again :/

Hah.. wow, the things you just don't bother testing because you're not playing it very long during testing...

Ok, so fullscreen mode is completely broken. I'm not sure exactly what it is, but apparently there's a lot of work regarding fullscreen mode in SDL-1.3, which is not yet released. If it solves issues though, it might be worth the adventure.

I shall try it later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mr_Congeniality
Posting Spree!


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only problem I have with this so far is that I am not able to access my LAN server from the client at all. It will list the IP address and port in the list, but it won't list the settings of the game or anything. Maybe it could be the fact that the server is running Windows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Mr_Congeniality: No, lazy developer did not include support for searching for lan servers.

Eg: feature not implemented. Nor is there a feature for manually adding a server, so.. yeah.. putting it in the request list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe,

Amzing.. I've been playing on my mac lion operating system the past hour... Perfect, no bugs.

Full screen would be great, but no worries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t8
Spamming!


Joined: 29 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lyfe,

One thing I notice is that many servers sometimes prompt for a NEW VERSION, and then I can't join.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lyfe
Puts the 'Z' in ZDaemon


Joined: 29 May 2002

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t8 wrote:
Lyfe,

One thing I notice is that many servers sometimes prompt for a NEW VERSION, and then I can't join.

Turns out, those are the 1.08 servers. I don't know what happened to my copy of the 1.08 mac build, but it'd be a dirty hack to make it load the 1.08 client anyway, and would present its own set of issues. Especially since 1.08 wasn't really properly supported on mac. course, neither is 1.09, but i'm keeping up with updates at least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ZDaemon Forum Index -> ZDaemon Help & Chatter All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group